Miss Marple Speaks

ahdn.jpgI’ve been rereading Barbara Hambly’s scifi books in my copious spare time. It was one of her books that sparked my interest in the Beatles originally. I’ve caught a couple of other sly references to the boys and assume she’s a fairly hard-core fan. I’m grateful to her for getting me into the Beatles as well as for writing all her very entertaining, and occasionally thought provoking, books.

I’ve just signed a contract to deliver a book on March 12 so I’ll be neglecting this blog a bit the next few weeks. Once that’s done I’m hoping to get MarplesBeatles mentioned on websites and such to increase its popularity (which is actually growing rather nicely considering how little push I’ve given it.) Meanwhile I’m very much enjoying listening to the BBC radio series, Days of Their Lives, which plays all the L/Mc songs they recorded or gave to others, most of their covers and a sampling of their post-Beatles work. Watched Give My Regards to Broad Street (a number of times and it’s now on the top of my wish list) and I’ll be writing about it soon. Also watched the A Hard Days Night DVD and much enjoyed it. All this is thanks to a subscription to Netflix I was given for Christmas.

Since it’s the end of the month, I tidied up my hard drives a bit and had to move my Beatles files to a drive with more space, turns out I’ve got over 10g, mostly thanks to my generous long-term Beatles fan friend. I wonder how many hours of listening that represents? Only bad thing is once you’ve got almost all of it there’s nothing left! Luckily their music supports repeated listening! But there are roughly 1,000 books I haven’t read yet so I don’t think I’ll die of Beatle-starvation any time soon. I’ll get back to the blog as I can over these busy weeks and never fear; I’m not forgetting it.

Explore posts in the same categories: A Word, Background, Beatlemania, Beatles, History, Miss Marple, Music, Rock

Leave a comment