Archive for August 16, 2009

Concert in Atlanta

August 16, 2009

I attended Paul’s concert in Piedmont Park, Atlanta, GA last night via the cell phone of a friend who had volunteered to help in setting up the park for the concert. The volunteers were given special passes to the show and I asked him to let me “attend” the concert briefly through his phone. My thought when word of the concert first came out that it would be cool to just be somewhere around the edge of the park to overhear it — but Atlanta is a couple hundred miles away and doing that sort of thing in a wheel chair means a lot of effort particularly for whoever is pushing the chair.

My friend was pleased at the idea. I mentioned it on one of the McCartney mail lists and Steve Marinucci read it and asked if I would let him publish my report in his Examiner column. So if you want to read about my concert experience as I “live blogged” it, visit his column at http://www.examiner.com/examiner/x-2082-Beatles-Examiner~y2009m8d15-Paul-McCartney-Atlanta-report-1–concert-report–by-phone

I had a wonderful time and still have a contact high from it.

Paul in Atlanta

Paul in Atlanta